Why your child deserves a school librarian.

20131102-080905.jpg

Dawn Finch, YA author, school library and literacy consultant, vice-chair London and South East School Libraries Group (SLG)
Follow @dawnafinch

With a decade of UK school libraries under my belt, and as a YA author, it is easy for me to see why your child needs a school library with a trained professional to run it. I’ve seen first-hand the positive difference this makes not only to your child’s development in literacy, but also to their enjoyment of reading and their linguistic progression. It’s not just about stamping books out, it’s about understanding and nurturing your child’s reading, guiding them so that they can successfully navigate the maze of reading and emerge triumphant and in charge. So much more than Biff and Chip and struggling to the end of a scheme. It’s about becoming a lifelong reader and having something in your life that will change it for the better. That’s what school librarians do, and they do it because it’s their passion and it’s important to them. Your child deserves that person in their life.

You can read the research for yourself – try this survey from Australia that shows the impact school libraries have on children’s literacy.
Or maybe look at what’s being said in the House of Lords.
Or just some common sense from a writer who knows a thing or two about reading. Neil Gaiman’s lecture for the Reading Agency is well worth a watch.

But (despite a rather ill-informed waffling thread on MumsNet) I know I don’t really need to convince parents that their child deserves a well stocked library run by a qualified librarian. You know it makes a positive difference to their education, and their lives.

Sadly it seems that increasingly the people we need to prove this to are head teachers and SLT members. As parents you need some evidence to prove your case and to get what your children deserve. So, when you are visiting schools to decide which one to commit to for your child’s future – take this leaflet with you. This explains exactly why your child deserves a good school library with a professional librarian. Download it here from the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals, print it and take it with you when visiting prospective schools. It will help you to see if the library you are being shown is a successful and supportive place, or just a room full of books. The leaflet will give you key points to look out for, and questions to ask. This way you can be sure that your child will be getting the support and materials that they require, and deserve.

This is not about a librarian banging on about her profession, it is about your child’s one shot at a brighter future. Their next school might make or break them, so why not expect the best? It is a simple fact that their literacy levels will be much higher if they have access to a real library. We’re not talking a room with books in – this is about real libraries run by professional people who have the right training for the job. This is a highly skilled profession, and your child deserves the right support from trained people. This is your child’s right to a better future, don’t stand for anything less.

A poster from the incredibly talented Sarah McIntyre says it all – a powerful search engine with a heart.

20131102-080925.jpg

19 thoughts on “Why your child deserves a school librarian.

  1. […] Why your child deserves a school librarian. | A Medley Of Extemporanea […]

  2. […] With a decade of school libraries under my belt it is easy for me to see why your child needs a school library with a trained professional to run it. I've seen first-hand the positive difference th…  […]

  3. […] With a decade of school libraries under my belt it is easy for me to see why your child needs a school library with a trained professional to run it. I've seen first-hand the positive difference th…  […]

  4. […] With a decade of school libraries under my belt it is easy for me to see why your child needs a school library with a trained professional to run it. I've seen first-hand the positive difference th…  […]

  5. […] With a decade of school libraries under my belt it is easy for me to see why your child needs a school library with a trained professional to run it. I've seen first-hand the positive difference th…  […]

  6. […] With a decade of school libraries under my belt it is easy for me to see why your child needs a school library with a trained professional to run it. I've seen first-hand the positive difference th…  […]

  7. […] With a decade of school libraries under my belt it is easy for me to see why your child needs a school library with a trained professional to run it. I've seen first-hand the positive difference th…  […]

  8. […] With a decade of school libraries under my belt it is easy for me to see why your child needs a school library with a trained professional to run it. I've seen first-hand the positive difference th…  […]

  9. […] With a decade of school libraries under my belt it is easy for me to see why your child needs a school library with a trained professional to run it. I've seen first-hand the positive difference th…  […]

  10. […] With a decade of school libraries under my belt it is easy for me to see why your child needs a school library with a trained professional to run it. I've seen first-hand the positive difference th…  […]

  11. […] With a decade of school libraries under my belt it is easy for me to see why your child needs a school library with a trained professional to run it. I've seen first-hand the positive difference th…  […]

  12. […] Dawn Finch, YA author, school library and literacy consultant, vice-chair London and South East School Libraries Group (SLG) Follow @dawnafinch With a decade of UK school libraries under my belt, a…  […]

  13. […] Dawn Finch, YA author, school library and literacy consultant, vice-chair London and South East School Libraries Group (SLG) Follow @dawnafinch With a decade of UK school libraries under my belt, a…  […]

  14. […] With a decade of school libraries under my belt it is easy for me to see why your child needs a school library with a trained professional to run it. I've seen first-hand the positive difference th…  […]

  15. […] With a decade of school libraries under my belt it is easy for me to see why your child needs a school library with a trained professional to run it. I've seen first-hand the positive difference th…  […]

Leave a Reply

